× Notice: This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies.
×
Servir nos clients dans ces temps difficiles

Planifier une séance virtuelle individuelle avec un ingénieur civil qualifié

Se connecter avec un ingénieur

St. Kitts Rockfall Protection Tunnel

Maître d’ouvrage: Département des travaux publics de Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis
Concepteur: ADeB Consultants Ltd.
Entrepreneur: National Association of Heavy Equipment Operators Ltd.
Emplacement: St. Kitts, St.Kitts

La route du sud-est de la péninsule est la principale autoroute de l’île de Saint-Kitts reliant Basseterre, la capitale, aux plages du sud et le quai du traversier à la ville voisine de Nevis. Des sections de la route ont été construites à travers les collines escarpées de la péninsule. Le long de la coupe Timothy Hill Road, juste à l’extérieur de Basseterre, les collines étaient extrêmement instables et perdaient leur face rocheuse face au sel et aux intempéries des vents des Caraïbes. Les glissements de terrain, les gros rochers et les éboulements menaçaient la sécurité des automobilistes et des piétons empruntant cet itinéraire.

Le département des travaux publics de Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis a chargé la conception et la construction d’un tunnel destiné à protéger la circulation automobile et les piétons des chutes de pierres dangereuses. Armtec a proposé une structure en arche Bridge-Plate longue de 150 m suivant la courbure naturelle de la route.

Le projet a rencontré plusieurs défis de conception. La nouvelle structure devait résister à la fois aux effets corrosifs du sel dans l’atmosphère et à l’impact des chutes de pierres et de débris. La topographie du tronçon de route à protéger constituait également un défi. La nouvelle structure devait suivre le tracé incurvé et en pente tout en maximisant la zone de circulation. La présence de changements de direction verticale et horizontale a ajouté un nouvel élément de difficulté à la conception.

Armtec a collaboré avec l’équipe de consultants pour concevoir une solution qui respecte et dépasse les exigences de durée de vie prévue, malgré les conditions difficiles sur le site. La route sinueuse était aménagée avec un coude unique à double direction comprenant une composante horizontale et verticale. Le coude a fourni une courbe douce guidant le trafic dans les virages de l’entrée du tunnel en amont à la sortie à environ 140 m.

Début 2014, la construction du tunnel d’environ 12 m de large sur 7 m de haut a commencé. Les sections de la plaque structurale profondément ondulée (DCSP) de Bridge-Plate ont été facilement transportées vers cet endroit de l’île. Les contrôles de qualité dans l’usine ont permis de s’assurer que la construction se déroulerait sans heurts sur le terrain. Vers le milieu de l’année, les plaques ont été assemblées sur place et le tunnel était prêt pour le remblayage final. Une fois terminé, le tunnel a été enseveli sous 2 m de remplissage, protégeant ainsi la route des chutes de pierres et de débris. Le projet a été achevé au printemps 2015. La route principale qui traverse Saint-Kitts a de nouveau été ouverte. Elle assurait un transport sûr pour le tourisme en plein essor et améliorait le transport quotidien des voyageurs insulaires.

Arc de pont

  • Portée: 11.3m
  • Montée: 6.76m
  • Longueur: 150.1m

Pas ce que vous cherchez?

    S'inscrire aux nouvelles de la société et des mises à jour de produits. Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

× Notice: This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies.
×
Serving our customers through changing times.

Discover our new online meeting tool

Schedule a one on one virtual planning session with a professional civil engineer.

Connect With an Engineer

St. Kitts Rockfall Protection Tunnel

Owner: Public Works Department of St. Kitts and Nevis
Engineer: ADeB Consultants Ltd.
Contractor: National Association of Heavy Equipment Operators Ltd.
Location: St. Kitts, St.Kitts

The South-East Peninsula Road is the main highway on the island of St. Kitts joining the capital city of Basseterre to the beaches of the south and the ferry dock to neighbouring Nevis. Sections of the road were built through the steep hills on the Peninsula. Along the Timothy Hill Road cut, just outside Basseterre, the hills were highly unstable and losing their rock faces to the salt and weathering of the Caribbean winds. Mudslides, large boulders and rock-fall threatened the safety of motorists and pedestrians travelling this route.

The Public Works Department of St. Kitts and Nevis commissioned the design and construction of a tunnel to protect vehicular traffic and pedestrians from dangerous rock-fall. Armtec proposed a 150m long Bridge-Plate arch structure following the natural curvature of the road.

The project faced several design challenges. The new structure needed to withstand both the corrosive effects of salt in the atmosphere as well as the impact of falling rock and debris. The topography of the road section requiring protection also posed a challenge. The new structure had to follow the curved and sloping route whilst maximizing the area for traffic flow. The presence of both vertical and horizontal direction changes added a new element of difficulty to the design.

Armtec collaborated with the consulting team to design a solution that met and exceeded the design service life requirements despite the challenging site conditions. The winding route was accommodated with a unique double direction elbow including a horizontal and vertical component. The elbow provided a smooth curve guiding traffic through the bends from the upslope entrance of the tunnel to the exit some 140m away.

In early 2014 construction began on the approximately 12m wide by 7m high tunnel. Bridge-Plate’s Deep Corrugated Structural Plate (DCSP) sections were easily transported to this island location. Quality checks in the plant ensured construction would proceed seamlessly in the field. By mid-year the plates were assembled on-site and the tunnel was ready for final backfill. Once completed, the tunnel was buried under 2m of fill guarding the road from falling rocks and debris. The project was completed in the spring of 2015. The main road crisscrossing St. Kitts was once again open, providing safe transport for the burgeoning tourist trade and enhancing day-to-day transport for island travelers.

Bridge-Plate Arch

  • Span: 11.3m
  • Rise: 6.76m
  • Length: 150.1m

Not what you are looking for?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.