× Notice: This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies.
×
Servir nos clients dans ces temps difficiles

Planifier une séance virtuelle individuelle avec un ingénieur civil qualifié

Se connecter avec un ingénieur

Réhabilitation du tunnel de Pinkerton

Maître d’ouvrage: Somerset County Rails-To-Trails Association
Concepteur: Gannett Fleming Inc. Pittsburgh, PA
Entrepreneur: Geobuild, Columbus, OH
Emplacement: Pennsylvnia, USA

Le Great Allegheny Passage (GAP) est l’un des plus pittoresques chemins de fer convertis à l’est du Mississippi. Reliant Washington D.C. à Pittsburgh, en Pennsylvanie, ce sentier polyvalent est apprécié quotidiennement par les cyclistes et les randonneurs qui s’enfoncent dans les montagnes des Appalaches. Près de la ville de Somerset, le sentier très fréquenté a pris une brusque déviation pour contourner le tunnel ferroviaire historique de Pinkerton. Le tunnel, construit à l’origine en 1911 pour relier l’ancienne ligne de chemin de fer Western Maryland à la région animée de Pittsburgh, a été fermé depuis l’ouverture du sentier GAP en 1999. Une grande partie de l’intérieur du tunnel avait fissuré et s’est effondré sur des murs en béton. s’est effondré laissant de grands trous dans le plafond. À l’automne 2014, les consultants en ingénierie Gannett Fleming ont demandé l’aide d’Armtec afin de réhabiliter le tunnel en béton de 270 m de long et d’éliminer le détour de 2,5 km autour de la structure défaillante.

La réhabilitation du tunnel ferroviaire défaillant était nécessaire pour rouvrir l’accès au sentier. Armtec a proposé une doublure en acier de construction ondulée de 8,3 m de longueur sur 6,8 m de hauteur qui correspond étroitement aux dimensions intérieures du mur de tunnel existant.

Le tunnel ferroviaire mesurait environ 260 m entre l’entrée et la sortie. Le client a demandé une conception sans jambes de force ni support pour maintenir les plaques en place jusqu’à la prise du coulis. Une conception de plaque de revêtement de cette taille nécessiterait des entretoises. Une autre conception de plaque structurale ondulée profonde (DCSP) ne nécessiterait pas d’entretoises, mais contrairement à la plaque de doublure, elle nécessiterait un boulonnage des deux côtés de la structure.

Une détérioration inégale dans le tunnel a entraîné une variation significative de son profil intérieur. L’espace vide entre le produit de plaque structurelle et le tunnel existant a également dû être minimisé afin de réduire les coûts de jointoiement.

Le département d’ingénierie d’Armtec a conçu une structure en arc à deux rayons Bridge-Plate d’une portée de 8,3 m sur 6,8 m. Afin de verrouiller les plaques des deux côtés de la structure, des sections de 6 m ont été pré-assemblées et mises en place le long de plaques coulissantes spéciales fixées sur les semelles le long du tunnel. Les 6 m de long de la doublure Bridge-Plate ont ensuite été assemblés à l’aide d’un mécanisme de jonction interne conçu sur mesure. Plus de 1 000 plaques ont été utilisées – l’équivalent de près de trois terrains de football.

Dans un effort visant à minimiser l’espace entre le mur de béton et le revêtement, le laser Gannett Fleming a mesuré les dimensions intérieures du tunnel. Les tolérances de regarnissage normales pour des structures de cette taille étaient de 200 à 300 mm. Les détails précis du consultant ont été intégrés au processus de fabrication d’Armtec, ce qui a entraîné une tolérance inférieure à 150 mm. La production de précision a permis au client d’économiser environ 300 000 $ en coûts de coulis.

Bridge-Plate arc à deux rayons

  • Envergure: 8 300mm
  • Hauteur: 6,810mm Longueur: 260m
  • Longueur: 260m

Pas ce que vous cherchez?

    S'inscrire aux nouvelles de la société et des mises à jour de produits. Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

× Notice: This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies.
×
Serving our customers through changing times.

Discover our new online meeting tool

Schedule a one on one virtual planning session with a professional civil engineer.

Connect With an Engineer

Pinkerton Tunnel Rehabilitation

Owner: Somerset County Rails-To-Trails Association
Engineer: Gannett Fleming Inc. Pittsburgh, PA
Contractor: Geobuild, Columbus, OH
Location: Pennsylvnia, USA

The Great Allegheny Passage (GAP) is one of the most picturesque converted rail-trails east of the Mississippi River. Connecting Washington D.C. to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania this multi-use trail is enjoyed daily by bikers and hikers as it twists its way through the Appalachian Mountains. Near the town of Somerset, the busy trail took an abrupt turn to detour around the historic Pinkerton Rail Tunnel. The tunnel, originally built in 1911 to connect the former Western Maryland Rail-line to the bustling Pittsburgh region, was closed since the GAP trail opened in 1999. Much of the tunnel interior had cracked and spalled concrete walls and in some areas the roof had collapsed leaving large holes in the ceiling. In the fall of 2014, engineering consultants Gannett Fleming contacted Armtec for assistance to rehabilitate the 270m long concrete tunnel and eliminate the 2.5km detour around the failing structure.

Rehabilitation of the failing rail tunnel was required to re-open trail access. Armtec proposed an 8.3m span by 6.8m rise corrugated structural steel liner closely matching the interior dimensions of the existing tunnel wall.

The rail tunnel measured approximately 260m from entrance to exit. The customer requested a design with no struts or supports to hold the plates in place until the grout was set. A liner plate design of this size would require struts. An alternative deep corrugated structural plate (DCSP) design would not require struts, however unlike liner plate it would require bolting on both sides of the structure.

Uneven deterioration within the tunnel caused its interior profile to vary significantly. The void space between the structural plate product and the existing tunnel also had to be minimized in order to reduce grouting costs.

Armtec’s engineering department designed a Bridge-Plate two-radius arch structure with an 8.3m span by 6.8m rise. In order to bolt the plates on both sides of the structure, 6m sections were pre-assembled and pulled into place along special slider plates set on the footings along the length of the tunnel. The 6m lengths of Bridge-Plate liner were then bolted together using a custom designed internal joining mechanism. Over 1,000 plates were used – the equivalent of almost three football fields in length.

In an effort to minimize the space between the concrete wall and the liner, Gannett Fleming laser measured the inside dimensions of the tunnel. Normal reline tolerances for structures of this size were 200 to 300mm. The consultant’s precise detailing was incorporated into Armtec’s manufacturing process resulting in a tolerance of less than 150mm. The precision production saved the customer an estimated $300,000 in grout costs.

Bridge-Plate two-radius arc

  • Span: 8,300mm
  • Rise: 6,810mm Length: 260m
  • Length: 260m

Not what you are looking for?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.