× Notice: This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies.
×
Servir nos clients dans ces temps difficiles

Planifier une séance virtuelle individuelle avec un ingénieur civil qualifié

Se connecter avec un ingénieur

Arc Terraspan® GRS

Maître d’ouvrage: District of Chetwynd
Concepteur: Terratech Consulting Ltd.
Entrepreneur: Landmark Solutions Ltd.
Emplacement: Chetwynd, BC
Date: May, 2019

Chetwynd est situé sur les contreforts du versant est des montagnes Rocheuses. Situé à la jonction des autoroutes 97, 29 et de la voie principale du Canadien National, Chetwynd est la plaque tournante du transport naturel de la puissante région de Peace River.

Au cours de l’été 2011, la région de Peace, en Colombie-Britannique, a connu des volumes de précipitations anormalement élevés sur une période de 48 heures, pouvant atteindre 150 mm dans certaines régions. Au cours de cette tempête, une arche en plaques structurelles qui emporte Widmark Creek sous la 46e rue a été emportée, fermant l’un des 2 points d’accès au parc industriel du district de Chetwynd. Le district devait rétablir l’accès le plus rapidement possible au parc industriel afin d’éviter toute perte de revenus pour ses nombreux clients.

S’appuyant sur ses partenariats, Urban-Systems Ltd. a contacté Armtec lors de l’élaboration de la conception préliminaire d’une structure de remplacement avec des semelles en béton. Armtec a cité le prix demandé et suggéré d’utiliser un système Terraspan® GRS Arch ™ au lieu d’une structure en arc conventionnelle. Les structures sol-acier conventionnelles consistent en une coque en acier reposant sur des semelles rigides entourées d’un
Enveloppe de remblai compactée: la charge est transférée dans la coque sous forme de compression annulaire et dirigée vers les semelles en béton situées en dessous.

La conception GRS (sol renforcé par géosynthétique) utilise des couches de géotextile tissé étroitement espacées dans l’enveloppe de sol compactée – la
L’effet composite de la combinaison sol / géotextile augmente considérablement la rigidité de l’enveloppe de sol de remblayage et réduit le transfert de charge sur la voûte en acier. L’expérience sur le terrain montre que la coquille agit comme un type de coffrage pendant la construction pour aider à promouvoir la cambrure du sol. Au lieu que la charge soit supportée par la coque en acier, elle est transférée au sol renforcé et élimine le besoin de semelles longues et coûteuses.

Urban-Systems Ltd. a choisi le Terraspan® GRS Arch ™ car il conservait le droit de passage existant ainsi qu’un profil bas avec une grande capacité hydraulique. Le propriétaire était ravi des coûts de maintenance à long terme moins élevés de cette arche par rapport à une installation de pont. Afin d’accélérer l’installation, le contrat a été attribué directement à Landmark Solutions Ltd. de Salmon Arm, en Colombie-Britannique. Point de repère
Solutions se spécialise dans la construction de GRS, ayant installé des dizaines de structures en Colombie-Britannique et en Alberta. La démolition de la structure existante a débuté le 31 octobre et les matériaux Terraspan® GRS Arch ™ (y compris l’enveloppe Bridge-Plate, les coffrages de murs en treillis soudés et les géotextiles tissés) ont été livrés par Armtec le 3 novembre 2011.

L’installation de la conduite d’eau principale enfouie, la préparation du lit du cours d’eau et de la fondation, ainsi que l’installation finale de l’arcade ont été achevées exactement
deux semaines.

Pas ce que vous cherchez?

    S'inscrire aux nouvelles de la société et des mises à jour de produits. Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

× Notice: This website or its third-party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the cookie policy. By closing this banner, scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies.
×
Serving our customers through changing times.

Discover our new online meeting tool

Schedule a one on one virtual planning session with a professional civil engineer.

Connect With an Engineer

Terraspan® GRS Arch

Owner: District of Chetwynd
Engineer: Terratech Consulting Ltd.
Contractor: Landmark Solutions Ltd.
Location: Chetwynd, BC
Date: May, 2019

Chetwynd is located in the foothills of the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains. Located at the junction of Highways 97, 29 and the Canadian National Railway mainline, Chetwynd is the natural transportation hub of the mighty Peace River area.

During the summer of 2011, the Peace Region of British Columbia experienced abnormally large rainfall volumes over a 48 hour period-up to 150mm in some areas. During this storm event, a Structural Plate arch that carries Widmark Creek under 46th Street washed out, closing 1 of 2 access points to the District of Chetwynd industrial park. The District needed to restore access to the industrial park as rapidly as possible in order to prevent loss of revenue for its many clients.

Based on partnering history, Urban-Systems Ltd. contacted Armtec while developing the preliminary design for a replacement structure with concrete footings. Armtec quoted within the requested budget price and suggested they use a Terraspan® GRS Arch™ instead of a conventional arch structure. Conventional soil-steel structures consist of a steel shell supported on rigid footings surrounded by a
compacted backfill envelope—load is transferred into the shell in the form of ring compression and directed into the concrete footings below.

The GRS (Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil) design employs tightly spaced layers of woven geotextile within the compacted soil envelope—the
composite effect of the soil – geotextile combination dramatically increases stiffness of the backfill soil envelope, and decreases load transfer to the steel arch. Field experience shows the shell acts as a type of formwork during construction to aid in promoting soil arching. Instead of load being supported by the steel shell, it is transferred to the reinforced soil and eliminates the need for time consuming, costly footings.

Urban-Systems Ltd. chose the Terraspan® GRS Arch™ because it maintained the existing right-of-way and also a low profile with a large hydraulic capacity. The owner was pleased by the lower long-term maintenance costs of this arch versus a bridge installation. In order to fast track the installation, the contract was directly awarded to Landmark Solutions Ltd. out of Salmon Arm, British Columbia. Landmark
Solutions specializes in GRS construction, having installed dozens of structures in both British Columbia and Alberta. The demolition of the existing structure started October 31, and the Terraspan® GRS Arch™ materials (including the Bridge-Plate shell, welded wire mesh wall forms and woven geotextiles) were delivered by Armtec on November 3, 2011.

Installation of the buried watermain, preparation of the streambed and foundation, and final installation of arch was completed in exactly
two weeks.

Not what you are looking for?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.